Editing a page
Adding and arranging blocks
You can add a block by clicking on the block above it and then clicking on the "plus" button and choosing which block you want to insert
Hitting "Enter" will also insert a block below the current one. "/" is a shortcut to pick which block type you want
Blocks can be dragged and dropped using the drag marker on the left and deleted using the "Trash Can" icon.
To move blocks to another page, use shift or "cmd/ctrl" to select multiple blocks and then use cut from the toolbar to cut the blocks into the clipboard. Select a block on this, or another page, and "paste" from the toolbar and the blocks will be pasted after the selected block.
Block Settings
- Most Blocks let you edit them directly and many also have additional settings on the right sidebar, under the "Block" tab.
- Text blocks have an additional formatting toolbar that appears if you select a word, allowing you to format text, create headers, links of bullets.
- Not all blocks have settings, for example the Title and Text blocks have no settings
- The right side bar can be hidden if needed by clicking on the middle of its seperator (as can the left toolbar)
Select text to apply formatting
You can create page sections using the sections block setting (NSW DS only)
Page Settings/Content metadata
In the right sidebar, in the first tab, there are settings for the content. Almost all content types have
- Title
- Appears in listings, searches and navigation. Use the Title Block to show it on the page as an H1.
- Summary
- A one-paragraph summary; appears in search and listings. Use the Description block to show it on the page instead of typing it twice.
- Preview image
- An image that can optionally appear in listings and searches.
- Short name
- Changes the URL of the content.
- Exclude from navigation
- Prevents the item appearing in top-level navigation.
- Categorization
- Tags to organise content internally, or expose to users via a Search block's Tag facet or in listings. Related items is reserved for a future block.
- Dates
- Publication date is set automatically on publish (and is adjustable); expiry date can hide an item from listings and search, though a direct link still works.
Some content types have addition metadata (like Events). An administrator can customise the metadata fields on your content types using the "Content types" control panel as well as add additional Content Types.
Publishing and workflow

- Once you have saved a page you will need to publish it as new Pages are Private by default
- Pages you create will automatically appear in the top level navigation.
- Use "Exclude from navigation" in the Page settings if this isn't desired.
- You can create a subpage of a page by clicking "Add > Page". Pages are both a folder and a Page — Inka edits them, and the content model underneath is Plone's.
- You can restrict content to certain logged in users by keeping the Page state "Private" and using the Sharing tool to add users or groups permissions
- You can publish items in bulk using the "Contents" tool.
History and Transaction Undo
In the left sidebar is a "History" tool that allows you to view the publication and edit history of Pages.
You can view the differences between two revisions of a page, view the page as it was at that version or choose to rollback the content to an old version
You can also undo other actions using the "Control Panel > Undo" tool however this will often not work unless it's done soon after the change you want to undo. This will undo the full transaction and if later transactions touch that same data then the undo will fail unless you undo all of those transactions as well.
You can view the transactions on a specifc content or section by selecting "sort by path" and typing in the path to view.